Almost burned by "mobile programmer"

For those that aren't aware: I'm an ASE tech working for a medium-size indy shop in the Twin Cities. We don't do any flash programming in house, the economics have never made sense in our situation. Therefore, we rely on a mobile programming "expert" should the need arise. He's a bit... goofy, however he does great work 99% of the time.

Today, I encountered his 1%. Carrying over from the "What are you working on today" thread, yesterday I replaced the electric rack and pinion in a 2014 Explorer. Straight forward job... save one aspect: the FIRST instruction in the Ford service information directed the technician to download the config from the original PSCM, install the new rack, then upload said config to the new PSCM. To clarify: the PSCM is the Power Steering Control Module.

We checked with computer man ahead of time, to which he replied "go ahead and swap, I can upload the config after the fact". Surprise, surprise... he was incorrect. After programming, I was greeted with a "Service Lane Keep Assist" message. This particular truck isn't equipped with LKA... but when we called said guy back in, he claimed "the LKA module failed...".

Long story short, I've now had to remove the original EPS motor/module from the core rack, I have to jam it up and plug it in to the vehicle to allow him to download the config, and reconnect the new rack for upload. Absolute cluster...

As built programming on Ford products never made sense to me
Just let me make on car offline choices for how this particular vehicle is equipped
it’s just how their volvo based tech is. you just can’t carry all this stuff onboard like the old days

ford needs to get with the times and completely lock the aftermarket out of all programming. mb volvo and soon jlr are doing this with resounding success

Last edited: