62,000 miles without an oil change

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi! I'm a writer researching an article on oil change intervals. I came across an article in the leading German car agazine Auto, Motor und Sport from the 1980's where they ran a VW Golf (1.6 liter gas) for 100,000 km (62,000 miles) without an oil change, and then had the engine torn apart and every moving part mictoscopically analyzed for wear. There was negligable wear, and all within normal paramaters. This was not some stunt, this is a very serious magazine and an independent lab did the analysis. I would be glad to hear your comments, and whether oil change intervals of anything less than manufacturers's recommendations will bring any benefits to an owner who expects to keep their car for a normal length of time. Also, have any of you actually experienced or witnessed an engine failure that verifiably was caused by poor lubrication (like from running a car without changing the oil)? Thanks for your responses.
Paul

I can completely believe this if it was a high-quality synthetic...maybe with a bypass...what type of oil was it? That makes a BIG difference.....

No, it was conventional oil and OEM filter. The test was not designed to show that it is possible to go this far with special oil and filter, but simply to find out what would happen if a driver stopped changing his oil.

As long as oil it topped off to proper level then wear to parts may not be great, the problem is that solids, dirt,debris etc and acids will form sludge etc. which will clog filter and oil gallery and as such will reduce oil flow that is what will kill and engine NO FLOW, dirty oil will not IMHO.
bruce