Is Beach area of DE still part of rust belt?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Astro14
Originally Posted By: turtlevette
You can throw around all the indignation you want. Bottom line it's true. I like cutting through the baloney.

It's different in a lot of ways down in the deep south. You don't want to be gay down there either.

You don't want to look at someone the wrong way either. It's a harsh human environment. I grew up in Louisiana so I have some personal experience with this. They're just now changing some of the Mardi gras pecking orders. You couldn't ride a float unless your great grandfather owned slaves.

Then MS and AL are way worse.

I know. I know. I'm way off base. I just know I never want to live down there ever again in this lifetime.l

I suppose it's equally true that condescension increases the farther North one goes...right?

I won't sugar coat it...self-righteousness seems to be coming from the Northerners in this thread. The Northerners, who don't live here, "know" that people in the South are racist.

Virtus Probi "knows" it. You "know" it. The OP "knows" it.

Funny how people in one region of the country (where I was born and grew up, by the way) just "know" that folks in the South are, what, deplorable? Racist?

Not up to the high standards of tolerance in their region?

Which they demonstrate by stereotyping (which IS being intolerant) of the southerners?

Really?

Having been born in Connecticut, but having lived in another country, as well as the West, Texas, the deep South, and now the Mid-Atlantic, I can say from experience that it's unfair to stereotype people in a region.

Donald, if you didn't want this to turn into a discussion of how Southerners are racist, then why did YOU bring it up at all?

Well last I looked, NY does not have any Confederate statues and people who are [censored] they are being removed.