Primacy MXM4 or what and when?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: KitaCam
Originally Posted By: The Critic
I put a set of Michelin Primacy MXM4s on my boss's 2008 VW Passat.

Are these H or V rated?

I believe OEMs are 97H rated.

I put a set of Michelin Primacy MXM4s on my boss's 2008 VW Passat. That was 17,000 miles ago, and today, the tires still have 8/32" on all 4 corners. The car received an alignment about 7k after the tires were installed, and rotations every 7-8k. Noise, handling and steering response have not changed since new - which is very impressive. Traction is phenomenal for an all-season. I truly believe that these are the best all-seasons you can put on a daily driver.

I have a set of these, in 215/45-17 87W, and my only disappointment is with steering response, which is a bit sluggish.

I have been running a set of the MXM's on the Saab for a couple years. Not that noisy, wearing evenly, fine in the dry and wet, slightly stiffer than the P6/Navigator Golds that were on each axle. These tires have been honestly lousy in the snow, enough so that I'm considering buying a set of snows in a town where people usually don't bother.

Too much confusion in here...

the mxm4's arent the same

there is 3 tires with that name

the newer ones came out in 2010 or 2011.

I think most people are talking about the PILOT HX MXM4

The primacy MXM4 are really good tires. but most people confuse them with the older mediocre models.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: mason1125
Originally Posted By: KitaCam
I put a set of Michelin Primacy MXM4s on my boss's 2008 VW Passat.

Are these H or V rated?

I believe OEMs are 97H rated.

Correct - the size is 215/55-16 97H XL. A lot of people miss the 97 XL requirement for this application.