Beam Type vs "Click" type Torque Wrench

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm currently in the market for a 1/2" drive torque wrench. At Sears, they sell a 1/2" drive "click" type torque wrench for $79.99, but it only comes with a 90 day warranty. On the other hand, the equivalent 1/2" drive beam type torque wrench only costs $29.99 and comes with a lifetime warranty.

1. Why is a beam type torque wrench warrantied for a longer period of time than a "click" type?

2. How are "click" type torque wrenches superior to beam type torque wrenches?

Thanks.

Beam is simplest by far, and obeys simple rules of physics.

Click type add complexity, and apparent ease of use. Increased complexity means increased cost. Increased ease of use means increased cost. Increased complexity means increased number of failure modes (i.e. reduced warranty)).

I own both types. I use either with no regard or concern for problems.

Where I work (and I'm a statistical quality engineer) we use beam-type torque measurement tools (certified by outside accredited agencies) to calibrate our other instruments.

Beam type is far simpler, and therefore less likely to be suspect to error.

However, the quality of "click" type has come so far that the question of accuracy is really a non-issue now.

Choose based upon your percieved balance of use, convenience, and cost. Either one will be fine.

Originally Posted By: The Critic
How are "click" type torque wrenches superior to beam type torque wrenches?

Depends on what you consider to be more important: simplicity and durability, or convenience. That said, cheap beam torque wrenches are much much worse than good quality click-type torque wrenches.