worst syth vs best dino

Status
Not open for further replies.
As a general rule, are all sythetics better than all dino oils?

Any exceptions to the "rule"???

I am new to the site, but I have not seen any threads yet that talk about this.

I like that question. Anxious to hear the answer from some of the experts here.

I am no expert for sure but I would definitely take any synthetic( that I know of anyway - maybe there is some really bad stuff out there? )over any conventional oil I am aware of. Anyday of the week. I would even take WalMart Supertech over any conventional oil. JMO.

I'm no "expert" on the issue, and much of my knowledge is from reading on here and web searches. But provided they meet certain specifications set by authorities ,like the API, ACEA, ILSAC and JASO, etc., wouldn't it be safe to say they are at the very least of a certain standard?

I'm far from an expert as well, but I did buy Supertech Synthetic using this logic, as it was only about $2 more than most of the conventionals on the shelf.

Originally Posted By: Falcon_LS
I'm no "expert" on the issue, and much of my knowledge is from reading on here and web searches. But provided they meet certain specifications set by authorities ,like the API, ACEA, ILSAC and JASO, etc., wouldn't it be safe to say they are at the very least of a certain standard?

Minimum standards yes. Oils can, and do however, exceed those standards and do so to varying degrees via different additive packs, base stocks, etc... There are synthetic oils like Supertech and then there are synthetic oils like Royal Purple, Amsoil, and Redline. While all synthetics I doubt anyone would put Supertech into the same class as those other 3. I sill say the lowest synthetic is a superior product to the highest level conventional. JMHO. The additive packs in some conventional oils may be a bit better than Supertech but overall when all aspects of oil are factored in the synthetic, IMO, is superior.

Last edited: