Which oil for my turbo Saab?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I am trying to decide which engine oil to use in my car. I am no oil expert but not a total novice either. I am learning more and more what the numbers in the technical datasheets mean, but I am still not sure what is suitable for my car.

I drive a 1997 Saab 9000 2.3 Turbo with the 200 hp B234L full-pressure turbo engine. It is an iron block engine with aluminium head, dual overhead camshafts and port injection. It has done 347000 km (about 215600 miles) so it's not really brand new anymore. However, it runs fine and I want to use a really good oil to keep it that way despite the high mileage.

I live in Sweden in a rather cold climate. Temperatures rarely exceed 30°C (86°F) in summer but sometimes fall to -25°C (-13°F) in winter. My car is parked outside and must be able to start in those low temperatures without to much wear on the engine. Thus, the oil must have good cold start characteristics. However, it must also be able to withstand hours of highway driving in summer with heavy load and accelerations.

My Saab manuals call for a Saab Turbo oil or an oil according to API SG/SH, ACEA A2-96/A3-96 and CCMC G4/G5. Several viscosities are suggested. Primarily 10W-30 or 10W-40 but also 5W-30 or 5W-40 in cold climates or 15W-50 or 20W-50 in hot climates.

The old Saab Turbo oil is not sold anymore and Saab Parts refer to the Genuine GM Dexos2 Fuel Economy Long Life 5W-30 recommended for newer GM Europe cars (Saab, Opel, Vauxhall and Chevrolet). That oil is a ACEA C3-compliant low-SAPS oil and I am not sure it is the best for my car.