What is the difference in Ford's 5w20 specs?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Specifically, what is the difference between the old WSS-M2C153-H and the new WSS-M2C930-A standard Ford issued for 2005?

I'm not an engineer, and I know they are highly regarded specifications, but is the new one the same, better, or worse than the old? I presume it is backward compatible, but Ford doesn't say.

Here are some links I found. Regarding the 153H spec:

http://www.ilma.org/resources/ford_2004_my.pdf

and the 930A spec:

http://www.ilma.org/resources/ford_service_fill_specs.pdf

Aside from requiring that 5W30 oil now meet the same specs as 5W20, the new 930A spec doesn't say that it still requires the double length Sequence IIIF test.
confused.gif

This not so subtle bit of manipulation could be interptreted as: Ford knows the 5w20 stuff doesn't do the job as well as the 5w30 oil. However,in order to meet CAFE reqirements Ford needs you to run the 5w20 suff in those engine/vehicles that don't make CAFE without it. Engine wear and tear are not the prime concern. Those vehiclesthat can meet CAFE with 5w30 should use it. Now I know we have wonderful 5w20 UOA's and 7-10 years and millions of miles from now they will provide a meaningful data set but for the moment that universe is barely populated and cannot be shown to provide a meaningful trend as compared to the volumes of 5w30/10w30 data. Sound reasonable?

dbf..that sounds reasonable..but..my 02 Mustang 4.6 seems to preform really good on the MC 5-20..when I first bought the car I ran the 5-20 till summer then switched to the MC 5-30 for one change..the motor seemed to not have as much power and I lost fuel milage so I went back to the 5-20 ...I regained the power and fuel milage...I now have over 30k on the car and still drive 80 +- on the freeway without any problems...if I had the Ford V10 and pulled a 10k trailer I might be thinking different...
dunno.gif

Actually its two different standards:

929A = 5W-30