Wax or sealer for new paint.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I had posted earlier that once it had stopped raining, the paint on my brand new car looked horrible. There were water spots etched into the paint and a lot of rail dust. I clayed the car yesterday and it removed most of it. The are still some spots around the edges of the panels I need to work on. Once I get it all cleaned up, what should I use on the paint? Some sort of sealer? Wax? I get a lot of fine droplets of sap from the trees in my neighborhood plus the stupid birds. I would like to put something on it that protects it from etching again. I'm new to detailing so a little clueless.

I've been digging around on detailing threads on here and other places, too. Looks like it just depends on how often you want to fool with waxing your car. General idea I'm getting is carnuba is pretty but short-lived compared to some of the polymer sealants... Griots and autogeek both have how-to sections of their websites.

Originally Posted By: The Critic
Collinite 845.

That stuff seems to have a Kreen/auto-rx like following on here.

Originally Posted By: BrianWC
Collinite 845.

Yeah, I've noticed that. I'll probably be washing often but waxing as little as possible. Although I love this car. It will eventually start seeing drive through car washes. I won't keep it more than 4 or 5 years so I'm not too worried about it. I just want it to look good when I want it to and be protected when I don;t have time to out effort in it. I tend to work long hours so can't always put time into it.

As someone who's tried more than my share of products, let me humbly offer this:

In the spring, I put Duragloss 601 on the horizontal surfaces and follow up with either 105 or 501. Then Aquawax (#951) once a month or so will carry you a LONG way.

Every once in awhile some quick detailer (I have DG #921 and Meg's Ultimate Quik Detailer, and want to try DG #521) will give it a really nice pop.