Vehicle Sat Since 2006/7- Need Recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone. I have a long story but I will try to make it as short as possible. I am an Apache helicopter engineer and have been so for many years now. In 2005, I was in Iraq with the 101st. Came back in late 2005 and purchases a 2001 Ford Expedition with the 4.6 liter, 2 valve engine. Loved the truck. Always performed my own maintenance. In late 2006, my company wanted me to go to Kuwait to support Apaches there for a year. My company has a parking lot at an airport so my vehicle was always parked at that lot (it's free). It sat for approx. 1 year. When I flew home for vacation, I flew into the airport and attempted to fire it up. Fired up without any issues. Again, love this truck! Drove it about 600+ miles to my parents home. There I took it in to get all the fluids changed out (oil, tranny, diff, coolant, brake) and also changed the battery since it sat for so long. I wanted to put something good into the truck since I knew it was going to sit for at least another 6 months but my pops talked me into just going to Walmart and putting in one of their batteries. Nothing against Walmart and I am not so naive to know that most batteries are all probably made by just a few companies. I just wanted something either original, as I had installed or put in a well known brand for reliability. Regardless, tired of listening to my pops, we went over to Walmart and had them install a new battery. After my visit, drove it the 600+ miles back to the airport, parked it and flew back to Kuwait. 6 months later, back home in the US and went to start my truck. You guessed it- just the "click, click, click". This vacation, I was short on time and did not have the time to jump it or mess around with it. I was super annoyed to say the least. No tools with me, no jumper cables, nothing. And no time. Fast forward to 2016- now. Truck has sat at that parking lot this entire time. Don't ask- its part of