Valvoline CVT document question

Sounds like it. The asterisk is just signifying that the OE fluids are a lower viscosity whereas the Valv is a higher viscosity just as a general informational statement.

Interesting question, I've been using this product in my Suzuki for several years. No issues but I do see that my vehicle takes 'Green 1' and Green 2 fluid. Green 2 is low viscosity.

Has the 'thick versus thin' controversy bled over into transmission fluids also?

I would be more concerned about this statement actually "Do not mix with other transmission oils."

If its supposedly compatible why can't I mix it?

I had a conversation with Trav about Valvoline Maxlife ATF claiming to be compatible with nearly every automatic transmission known to man. I would be more comfortable using a specific fluid for the transmission in use.

Use caution with asterisks and the fine print..

Here is something you can consider.... use the correct specified/licensed fluid and then you don't have to worry about what a document says on a multi-vehicle fluid nor do you have to worry about premature failure due to a multi-vehicle fluid not actually meeting the requirement.

I had a conversation with Trav about Valvoline Maxlife ATF claiming to be compatible with nearly every automatic transmission known to man. I would be more comfortable using a specific fluid for the transmission in use.

Use caution with asterisks and the fine print..
Which is simply not possible because some of the fluids Maxlife claims to be compatible with are not compatible with each other therefore it is impossible for it to actually meet the correct specifications perfectly.

Maxlife has it's place, it is good fluid and on many transmissions it works fine but when a specified/licensed fluid is available it is really not a smart idea.

Reactions: hrv