Turbo Cooldown

How long should I wait for the cooldown when I idle before shut off?
On a modern vehicle, about 0 seconds.
- they will be designed for either passive cooling techniques or run a small pump
- the last few minutes into a residential area are usually pretty tame
- with as many turbos as there are out there now, there would be widespread knowledge if this was a problem.

the cooldown problem stems back from the 80s when turbos were new and add-ons didn’t have the engineering we have today. Or maybe (I have no firsthand experience here) if you are bringing the car in off a hot lap at a track.

OR (I do have experience here), if towing heavy and they are barely glowing soft red, 30 seconds off the interstate. In that case I’ll let it idle a few minutes.

How long should I wait for the cooldown when I idle before shut off?
I can’t see what vehicle you’re asking about.

If you aren’t towing heavy then probably idle and shutdown. I have an EGT gauge on my Ram and I let it cool down under the 400F range prior to shutting it down. If I have the time I will let it go down closer to 300F.

Honestly letting it idle so it doesn’t run dry is probably just as big of a deal.

Just my $0.02

Unless the engine was seeing a lot of boost in the previous few minutes, I wouldn't wait at all. On most modern turbos, coolant continues to circulate through the turbo by convection, even after the engine is off, which helps prevent oil coking. I'd still give it a bit of idle time after coming off a racetrack or something.

On a modern vehicle, about 0 seconds.
- they will be designed for either passive cooling techniques or run a small pump
- the last few minutes into a residential area are usually pretty tame
- with as many turbos as there are out there now, there would be widespread knowledge if this was a problem.