Toyota V6 oil filter info

Status
Not open for further replies.
Long time lurker...might have a few posts up...can't remember.

Anyway, I'm an ex toyota dealer tech, still do a lot of automotive diagnosis and repair...I've had a recent interest in oil filters after a few toyota V6 (3.4L, 4.0L) filter related issues have come up. First was a 3.4 that after skipping a day of driving, would have a solid knock for several seconds upon startup. The filter had less than 4K miles and less than 6 months old. Exchanged the orange filter for a Wix and the problem went away. The issue only occured once or twice so the motor should be OK. Second issue was on my wifes truck. 4.0L w/ 188K miles on it, well maintained, never an issue. Installed a "Pentius" filter, since the local jobber stocks them and said they were good. She drove it for a week and probably 40-60 drive cycles. I noticed a horrible knock one morning when she was leaving to drive our son to school. I replaced it with OE that day. One odd thing I noticed was that ZERO oil drained from the filter (inverted at about a 45° angle when installed) upon removal. I've NEVER, over the course of over 100 oil changes on the 2GR-FE engine in various vehicles, had a dry filter upon removal. With the new OE filter, the knock upon startup was significantly less pronounced, but still there...along with some lower end noise over 3000 rpms. The engine was damaged.