Toothless dog

Status
Not open for further replies.
My dog has been loosing his teeth since we got him eight years ago. At the time we got him, the vet estimated him to be 7 to 9 yrs old. We've had him 7 and a half years. Lifespan for a Schnauzer is supposed to be about 14. He still seems pretty energetic at times. What are my options for him as far as food (cheap)? Thinking he can't have much life left in him, but I've been saying that for two years and he just keeps going and going.

When my gramps lost his teeth, we gave him baby food, because he refused wearing dentures. So maybe some kind of puppy chow would be good?

I had one that lived for 17 years, fed her moist and meaty burger dog food after she lost her teeth. That was one good dog, followed me everywhere and traveled more than most people.

Soft food but remember you get what you pay for if you like the dog feed it high quality food that has vitamins and minerals to keep him healthy and out of the vets office or if the dog is not worth the care put it down and get another dog and feed him proper .

Cottage cheese, baby food or ground meat and rice? We had a Miniature Schnauzer growing up that lived to be 16 or 17. Every year he got meaner and meaner!

Can't you just stick regular dog food into a blender with some extra water?

My wife/I never bought baby food except rice/oat ceral. We just took our stuff and blended it into something baby would eat.

Originally Posted By: otis24
My dog has been losing his teeth since we got him eight years ago. At the time we got him, the vet estimated him to be 7 to 9 yrs old. We've had him 7 and a half years. Lifespan for a Schnauzer is supposed to be about 14. He still seems pretty energetic at times. What are my options for him as far as food (cheap)? Thinking he can't have much life left in him, but I've been saying that for two years and he just keeps going and going.