Super Tech Oil Sludge???

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been using Super Tech full synthetic oil for several years. My van holds about 5 1/2 quarts so I but a jug and an extra quart. My son was over the other day and his car was about 1/2 quart low so I went to add an 1/2 quart I had in the garage.
I started to pour it into his engine and the bottom of the quart had this thick sluge in the bottom ....like maybe the oil separated??? Has anyone seen this ? Who manufactures the Super Tech for wall mart....I want to send this to them to see what they say happened.

P4130770.jpg
[/img]

Last edited:
IMO...What you see is most likely the add pack. It happens to all oils....synthetic and Dino, after sitting and for awhile. I usually shake the quart bottles upside down a few days in advance of an OCI. This helps to get the add pack, that settles on the bottom of the containers, mixed back into the oil.

Originally Posted By: NightRiderQ45
You are in Ohio so yours might be XOM. Just look at the stamp of the bottom of the bottom. Is it WPP?

It's WPP.

The oil wasn't sitting that long.....maybe a few months.

I've used ten year old oil from my shelf and have never had anything like that. Actually, I used SL rated Supertech (the PZ/QS version!) last year and poured without shaking and there was nothing of the sort.

That looks like some kind of defect.

it seems to be something that pops up regularly and most say its not a big deal. just shake up the quarts before using. I have had oil sitting in my shed for years and personally have never seen anything like add pack fallout. In fact i just used some QS torque power that i bought in alabama 3 years ago because it was on clearance. bottles are clear and the oil looked perfect. I guess i have been lucky for now.