Stupid Airport mm-wave Scanners

Status
Not open for further replies.

JHZR2

Staff member
I always deny the scan. Of course, after going through the detector and not setting it off, you get a patdown.

Well, apparently they have made it worse. I had a longer, more intrusive patdown than ever before. Terrible. Even got swabbed.

Of course I was clean and clear in every way.

I don't want to be irradiated by something that is "safe". I don't have to fly, I don't have to use a cellphone. But I do have to get irradiated if I don't want to be horribly inconvenienced going through airport security.

If they used passive mm wave, I'd be ok. But it amazes me how the sheeple have forgotten about the radiation (ionizing or not), and intensive patdowns.

I will continue to deny it if asked to go through.

Anyone else?

I deny it every time. I work in the medical field, and am a little paranoid about radiation anyways, since we dont have studies that show effects 40-50 years down the line.

I dont mind the patdown, its intrusive, but as long as its men-men and women-women its fine. I dont want some jerk trying to cop a feel of my wife or mom.

Everyone should go through metal detector, but only the potential criminals/terrorists via profiling should be subject to intensive patdowns and/or scanners.

I'd go through it. If my dad can survive being within 25' of a Nuclear Reactor for months at a time with nothing but a couple inch thick wall of lead between him and it for the better part of 20 years, then I can survive going through the scanner. Do you even have any idea how much radiation you are exposed to when you are on the actual plane itself? The atmosphere is much, much thinner at 39,000 feet, and it doesn't protect you nearly as well. I forget the statistics, but it goes something like an hour on a plane is equal to the amount of radiation you would normally be exposed to in a year, or something.

Last edited:
please show us your calcs nick
smile.gif