Softened water smell

I’m new to well water, never had a softener before. We have a Kinetico water softener at our house. But I accidentally let it run out of salt, no big deal just add more, but I’ve noticed that the water no longer has a sulfury/rotten egg smell. It would smell god awful if it started a regen. Like “I didn’t wash my hair yet but I don’t care I’m done!” bad. Water straight from the well has no smell and actually tastes very good.

I ran a few doses of iron out through it which stopped the hot water from always mildly smelling of it unless it was in a regen, I noticed it sometimes in the cold water as well. Our water doesn’t seem crazy hard, I washed my truck with it and it didn’t make it all chalky, just a few water spots. I know there is iron in it though, the sediment filter comes out red.

Am I fine not using the softener again and turning the bypass valves or leave it alone so it doesn’t get stagnant if we decide to use it again?

Note: Many of the kinetico units are designed so you never have non softened water. That's their "sales pitch" for many of their products. They regen only after a specific amount of water was treated. (I'm sure you know all this) . "If" you have one of their 24/7 units, and both tanks produce smelly water, it may be a clue to the nature of the problem (internal bacteria) . If you don't have that type, and it smells only during regen, then maybe it has a valve problem. As it should bypass the softener system 100% during regen.

In any case, you should not have any smell associated with the water from the softener or other filters, or from your hot water. Smell could indicate bacteria (very likely iron bacteria, which is generally harmless but annoying) . Or it could indicate an operational problem.