Rust on brake rotors, when is it a problem (picture)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

Could you take a look at the picture and state if you think the rust alone (outside of any other hypothetical factors) is a problem necessitating replacement of rotors? If the minimum thickness of the rotors is within spec, is there any reason I would have to replace the rotors?

IMG-1605.JPG

I would change them, if the cooling fins are as bad as they look the rotor can collapse in on itself or crack, neither is a good thing.

Originally Posted by Warstud
Wow...those are in bad shape...I'd replace them. Are these on the Neon?

Thanks for your thoughts, they are not on the Neon. They are on a 2010 Taurus with 130k miles

Is it hard to replace the rotors compared to just the brake pads? Any tips? I have never done the rotors before but have done pads.

i see flaking. Did you put those rotors on or a previous owner. They could have been a really cheap grade of steel that rusts easily and will continue until they fail from rust.

You might look for replacements with a higher quality steel to reduce the rusting.

I just did a 2012 Civic with a cracked front rotor, the other side looked like this. I wouldn't want to stop in a hurry with those in spec or not.
49.gif

Originally Posted by 7055
Is it hard to replace the rotors compared to just the brake pads?

Pretty Easy.

Looks ok to me from that image, but maybe try to get a good look at the other side of the rotor to see how bad it is at the center, where the air goes in.

Last edited:
That looks pretty bad. The flaking rust is limiting the cooling, and degrading the integrity. remove the caliper, then remove the two large bolts holding on the bracket. They will likely be hard to remove. Use a long handled ratchet or breaker bar. I use a mini sledge to loosen the rotor by hitting the back side. Don't hit the dust shield.