Replacing Spark Plugs In Generac, Need Anti-Seize ?

I am about to replace the spark plugs in my Generac 16 kW generator. I have the gap and torque specifications but the owners manual doesn't mention if I should use anti-seize compound on the threads. Any suggestions ?

I've been using specific ceramic grease for the job for the last 10 years or so. Never any issues. Always a small dab of the ceramic grease and torqued to spec.

Not required. I don't recommend it. Unless you are running Autolites on an I/O marine application

Why are you doing plugs? How many hours on the meter? They are usually good for a decade.

Rule: Don't mess with Iggy unless there is a good reason.

Newer plugs, particularly NGK, have chromium? threads that do not require anti-sieze compound. In fact, NGK strongly advises against using anti-sieze.

The chromium threads not only reduce corrosion so the spark plug will be easier to remove in the future, but also reduce friction when installing the plug. Thus, NGK states if you feel you must use anti-sieze, it is very important to reduce the torque by 20% from the specification, so as to not over-torque. The combination of the chromium threads and anti-sieze reduces the friction too much and will result in over-torqueing, if the standard torque specification is used.

So unless you are one that is prone to severely neglect spark plug change intervals, I would strongly recommend against using anti-sieze on any spark plug that has chromium threads.

^ Nickel plating if the plug threads are silver, no anti-seize needed and need to reduce torque if you use it. Then there's golden zinc chromate plating which beats nothing but long term, will also oxidize so only skip the anti-seize if changed on a regular basis (every "few" years). If the finish is instead black oxide, found on cheaper plugs, use anti-seize but you still have to reduce torque if the manufacturer did not spec torque using it.