Relocating to Manhattan KS area

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Morning. I am looking for anyone that has knowledge of the Manhattan KS / Junction City KS area. Looks like work might require a relocation to the area and I have very little first hand knowledge about the area. I am mainly looking for info on affordable housing and places to avoid, cost of living, things to be aware of kind of stuff. With Manhattan being a college town and Junction City being near Ft. Riley it looks like the housing market favors landlords. Still many variables at this point that have yet to be worked out. Thanks in advance for the guidance.

I would wait to move there until next fall, when it is pretty nice weather. It will be very cold this winter, stormy in the spring, then suddenly get very hot and humid in June. Around september to october it will be pretty nice. Then winter sets in and you could have anything from heavy snows to deep subfreezing temperatures and howling winds.

Originally Posted By: PurpleT
Good Morning. I am looking for anyone that has knowledge of the Manhattan KS / Junction City KS area. Looks like work might require a relocation to the area and I have very little first hand knowledge about the area. I am mainly looking for info on affordable housing and places to avoid, cost of living, things to be aware of kind of stuff. With Manhattan being a college town and Junction City being near Ft. Riley it looks like the housing market favors landlords. Still many variables at this point that have yet to be worked out. Thanks in advance for the guidance.

Another Manhattan?

Yep, self-proclaimed "Little Apple", as compared to the Big Apple.

Overall, a nice town. Can't speak to the rental/house buyer market, but if your job is in Manhattan, you probably want to live in/near Manhattan.

Junction City is much nicer than it used to be. Ogden is still small, but convenient to Fort Riley.