PureOnes not for motorcycles?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I understand that this message was posted on the Purolator Web site:

"If you're thinking you want to install a PureONE oil filter on your bike, please think again. PureONE oil filters are designed for vehicles, not bikes. Because of PureONE's high efficiency, the motorcycle oil pump may not be able to handle the pressure. The Purolator motorcycle filter line is designed to meet the specific needs of a bike; therefore we highly recommend the use of a Purolator ML filter over a PureONE oil filter."

Do you think this makes sense? I've been using PureOnes on my motorcycle for two years with no known problems, as have many others.

Their statement ...

"Because of PureONE's high efficiency, the motorcycle oil pump may not be able to handle the pressure."

... doesn't make much sense to me.

Are they claiming there is so much flow resistance that a motorcycle oil pump can't pump oil through a PureONE? I highly doubt that is the case since we know the PureONE actually flows pretty well - probably as well as any cycle specific oil filter. I'd like to hear what the Purolator engineer's reasoning is on this one. A motorcycle's oil pump usually puts out as much or more pressure than an auto's pump.

Restriction maybe?
If a filter filters as good as they say there has to be more restriction i don't care what everyone says unless they are using some miracle media..
I learned about physics in like fourth grade and i don't think the theory changed that much..

Originally Posted By: crazyoildude
Restriction maybe?
If a filter filters as good as they say there has to be more restriction i don't care what everyone says unless they are using some miracle media..
I learned about physics in like fourth grade and i don't think the theory changed that much..