Oh no, what did I do? Battery charging in vehicle

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone, I am happy I found this resource. I have stumbled across a problem and I do hope that it is a minor issue, this is something I have not encountered before. So let's have at it, please rate how bad this is for my vehicle on a scale of 1 to 10.

I was working on my old trusty Dodge and it came time recently to change batteries. I had it since oh about 5 years and the old one has run its course, and a new one was purchased about a week or so ago. Well, unbeknownst to me, my alternator decided to quit. What better way to find out than while driving on the highway. Bummer.

Anyways, since the alternator is coming forthwith yet I still need to get to work, I decide to charge up the battery while it is hooked up to the car. I did not see the harm in this, this car is a second priority, perhaps I didn't think it all the way through but I am new to this, how could it hurt was my train of thought.

And this is where the problem begins.

Just now, I go to turn it on, a little late night insomnia. So, I turn the key to ignition.. I see the cluster light up, good. Electronics working, lights, radio is on, etc. They are off but they are operational is what I am saying. So I go to start the car while it is still hooked up and I hear *click*

I think to myself "oh no what have I done." I go out there and take off the negative terminal, and put it back on, and I see the interior light come back on. This is good.

So, I go to recreate the process, and it happens again, the same way. I can turn key to ignition and everything works, I go to start it and *click*

The battery is presently charging up some more, I have an old-fashioned automatic slow charger from Sears. It puts in 2A current.

Will this work itself out, or did I do something? Does it simply need more charge or what.. This is new to me, any input would be greatly appreciated. Thankies!

Originally Posted By: KD0AXS