No more green coolant?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Have they phased out green coolant? All I see now is this "one brand" for all coolants type coolant.Is this what we are to use now on a flush and refill?
dunno.gif

It's definitely getting more and more scarce, although I'm pretty sure some companies are still making it. None of the OEMs are using the old style coolant anymore, though. They're all going with OAT or HOAT coolants. Zerex G05 (an HOAT) is proving to be a popular choice to replace the green stuff. Prestone Extended Life (pretty much all they make, now, just dyed differently) is good for those needing a pure OAT (like Dexcool and VW & Audi's coolants).

97 F150
So,what you're saying is,if I cant find the green coolant that ive been using for over 20 years,3 years in my current truck,that I have to flush and clean my coolant system extremely well before using this new stuff?
confused.gif
dunno.gif

If you really want the traditional formula, try Zerex MaxLife. It's designed for older vehicles and appears to have the corrosion inhibitors (phosphates, silicates) those vehicles were designed for.

On another note, there's been some discussion regarding the new all-purpose coolants such as the new Prestone formula. When I read the label on a jug, it appears to have 2-EHA, one of the organic acids used in DexCool. I've read that this compound is a plasticizer, so I'm not so sure it'll be safe on older vehicles--especially with regards to gasket materials. Correct me if I'm wrong.

quote:

Originally posted by nel:
If you really want the traditional formula, try Zerex MaxLife. It's designed for older vehicles and appears to have the corrosion inhibitors (phosphates, silicates) those vehicles were designed for.