Need Lawn Advice

Hello lawn care experts! I need some help!

We moved here last September, and, with a 3-month-old, an 18-month-old, and a soon to be 4-month-old, and the wife and I working, I haven’t taken the time to do anything to the yard aside from keeping it mowed and edged.

Like most in our (semi-rural) county area, our yard looks to me like a mix of weeds.

I’d like to get it looking good, with a mostly uniform grass type.

My wife is from Northern Indiana (Warsaw). When we visited up there in April, I was struck by how nice and verdant green, that seemingly everyone’s lawn was. There were very few weeds; if anything, there were a few wildflowers here and there. And almost every lawn was like that. And I doubt all those people were lawn care nuts who take exacting, meticulous care of their lawn. Probably some sort of cool season grass, I’m guessing.

Starting to think weeds are just more ubiquitous in the south.

So, I’m a lawn care newbie. I do understand a few principles from the limited amount of research I’ve done.

I’ve read that it’s good to use something to combat weeds - either pre-emergent (obv. too late in season for that), or post-emergent. I can certainly apply this myself. Just need to know what to use and when to use it.

I’ve read that it’s good to de-thatch and aerate (Don’t think I’ll buy equipment to do this; I’ll likely hire it out once a year).

I know I’ll need to seed (This I can do myself).

What I’m not sure about is what order to do these steps in.

What grass seed to use.

And when to get started.

Could I start now? Or should I wait until fall?

Say I seeded with something like fescue around September. Will it grow over the winter and then die out when it gets warm next spring/summer?

I’ve heard of people “nuking” the existing lawn (whatever is there) and starting over. Anyone done this?