My 2007 Ford Fusion turned 300K today.

I started using M1 in 1978 and have never had a car increase in oil consumption from the time I bought it till sold. If I do get engine leaks I either repair them myself or have it done. I learned how to care for vehicles while In the Navy. I was a jet engine mechanic and saw how aircraft were maintained, and I followed that experience the rest of my life.

Which jet engines did you work on ?

I’ve seen the Mobil 1 engine photos you posted over the years and your engines were spotless. (y)

Your extended OCI point may have some merit; but it likely all comes back to the oil coking up the rings. And that can likely happen even at shorter OCIs with subpar oils. 👍🏻
I prefer 4,000 mile / 6 month oil changes with a low priced full synthetic 5W-30. Engine cleanliness is my main concern.

Last edited:
Yes but it's bias based on first hand experience. Some of every manufacturers vehicles have failed. Especially high end vehicles like Mercedes. But Ford is definitely up there for high numbers of problems and they are commonly bought by people who are financially much more affected by a major failure like transmissions, head gaskets or full engines which ford seems to be very good at messing up. Lol.

A friend of my parents always bought Ford trucks and I made the mistake of saying something somewhat negative about Ford in front of him. It wasn't too long after that his daughter focus lost it's transmission (pretty well near 100% failure rate on those dual clutch transmissions). Ford knew they were no good when they produced them but they decided they could fix them after the fact.

Once again, all manufacturers make some bad ones. But Ford is pretty good at making bad ones.