Mazda TSB: 2.5L with CD & 6AT… 3, 6, CX-5, CX-30 owners get in here

So, I’m in the market for a newer vehicle and came across this TSB while looking at Mazda recommendations:

From this thread:

APPLICABLE MODEL(S)/VINS

NOTE: Vehicles with cylinder deaction have a "M" as the 8th digit in the VIN for the 2.5L with cylinder deactivation.
2017-2024 CX-5 (2.5L with cylinder deactivation and 6AT)
2018-2021 Mazda6 (2.5L with cylinder deactivation and 6AT)
2019-2024 Mazda3 (2.5L with cylinder deactivation and 6AT)
2020-2024 CX-30 (2.5L with cylinder deactivation and 6AT)

DESCRIPTION
Some vehicles may exhibit a chirp noise (stick-slip noise) from the automatic transaxle (AT) when shifting from 3 to 4 while driving.

This may be caused by the automatic transaxle fluid (ATF) being contaminated by iron powder due to excessive wearing of the lock up clutch in the torque converter.

Have read about nightmares with cylinder deactivation on certain GM products. I'm no expert, but given a choice, I'd choose to skip that feature.

PS: yes, I know, cylinder deactivation has nothing to do with transmission wear. Please forgive my drift...
Well, according to some on that Mazda forum, it sounds like CD creates extra vibration and manufacturer’s changed some of the transmission design to compensate.

They appear to be related. Otherwise, why only the CD engines having transmission effected per the TSB? Excess wear in the fluid basically causing the shifting symptom. In this case, it appears to be the torque converter being the source. It’s all connected in one way or another.

I read the Mazda247 link.
If you have one of the effected vehicles, selling it fast might be the smartest thing to do.

If I read it right, the chirp is clutch material binding up in a tricked-out flywheel.
There was some mention of a shaft, but the description went nowhere.

PS: yes, I know, cylinder deactivation has nothing to do with transmission wear. Please forgive my drift...