Linux Mint Security?

Status
Not open for further replies.
All these discussions of Linux Mint had me interested in trying it. Installed Mint 16 Mate on a Dell 755 Optiplex. It is fast. Unlike other versions of Linux I tried in the past it is working well. I am used to Windows with antivirus, CCleaner, etc to keep it safe.

What do I need to do with Linux Mint to make it secure?

This computer came with Windows 8.1. I wanted to see what it was like. Now I am trying to forget it.
frown.gif

I also have Emachine that am reistalling Windows 7. It was getting unstable, but has software I need for work. I have been re-installing windows for 4 hours now. Still waiting for all the security updates to install.

Linux is seeming too easy. You install it and use it. Am I missing something?

I recently installed it too. As far as I know Linux is almost impossible to infect with a virus, [I'm sure someone is trying though] and it doesn't need CCleaner. I'm new to it but the buddy that turned me onto it told me this, and he is very well versed in Linux as well as Windows. I also read up on it and discovered that's the case.

Now lets say someone emails you an email with an attached Virus, it will do nothing to Linux. But if you forward that email to a friend with Windows the virus can infect that machine. There is software for Linux users to prevent the example I just mentioned.

IMO installing Linux Mint is a great way to squeeze a few extra years out of an old computer. I will be changing over my XP machine shortly. I'm still learning but I am very impressed.

Originally Posted By: Ramblejam
Originally Posted By: MONKEYMAN
Am I missing something?

Nope.

Will Microsoft compensate me for all the time I wasted?

I would still recommend something like ClamAV on Linux. As someone else pointed out, even though you are immune to Windows viruses, you can still pass them along unknowingly. There are also browser-based exploits that could hijack Firefox, Chromium, etc.

Quote: