Higher End Espresso Machine

I am looking at a couple different machines The Profitec Pro 400 and the Bezzera BZ13. Both are north of $1500 so I want a machine that is serviceable and will last 20years. Does anybody have any insider knowledge about this Industry? Or should I say what company would you buy from. I would never consider an Italian car, so it feels funny shopping for an Italian Espresso Machines! Bezzera is NSF certified, how much does that matter? Thanks.

https://www.profitec-espresso.com/en/products/pro-400

Last edited:
Very nice, though I have no experience with either of those two machines. I've been happy enough with a LaSpaziel S1 Vivaldi which is the previous version of this one linked below. Mine is unplugged for the moment, as the pump is kaput. It made it for about 15 years, so can't complain about that. Espresso machines are different than most consumer kitchen products as they are much more complex and will all eventually require service and repair.

We bought a Pasquini Livia 90. About 20 years in it needed a new pump, valve, relay, and several miscellaneous parts, and labor. About $500.
The place is local enough to drive to, in Los Angeles. Click here
They’ve been in business since 1957. But I notice they don’t sell any machines under their own name.

After going on a few coffee forums, it seems like they all break down. I may just lower my price point, It would be devastating to spend money on a future headache!

We bought a Pasquini Livia 90. About 20 years in it needed a new pump, valve, relay, and several miscellaneous parts, and labor. About $500.
The place is local enough to drive to, in Los Angeles. Click here
They’ve been in business since 1957. But I notice they don’t sell any machines under their own name.
Thanks for the link