Help choosing router

Status
Not open for further replies.
Switched to Charter internet yesterday. Getting rid of AT&T DSL. I liked the 2Wire wireless gateway. Was rock solid as far as connection and needing minimal attention. Before that I was using router with Charter cable. I am not very tech savvy. I had problems with router not communicating with Charters modem. I am looking for a router that is dependable and easy to configure. Currently using D-Link DIR-601. Wireless is not that stable. I rarely use wireless and router is in my room, so I don't need anything that is super powerful. Just something to occasionally use with Iphone or Ipad. Otherwise, things are hardwired. I can return the D-Link to Micro Center. They had a ASUS Wireless N- ADSL Modem Router. I liked the idea of a button for turning wireless on and off if I could find something that works with cable. My main priority is reliable or stable (minimal fiddling). What do you recommend? Oh, Charter gave me a Motorola SB6121 for a cable modem.

Nice to see they gave you a SB6121, which is a newer modem supporting DOCSIS 3.0.

Truthfully until you start to spend $150-200ish on a router, there's not a whole lot of difference among the major brands. I've been partial to Netgear for a long time but the Cisco-Linksys stuff is good, as is D-Link, Buffalo, and Belkin.

Try and get something with 5.0 if you have a lot of interference from other neighboring networks or stuff like microwaves/cordless phones.

Charter is decent all in all. We changed over from AT&T DSL a couple years ago as the DSL speed wasn't keeping up with the times. For modems, any Motorola Surfboard DOCSIS 3.0 compliant one will do.