front wheel bearings - amsoil GHD or GLC?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi! New here, nice forum.

I've got a new 3/4 ton diesel Ram truck and I'm installing aftermarket manual lockout hubs in a couple of weeks. I'm trying to figure out a good grease to use for the new wheel bearings. I'm in the process of switching all my other oils out to amsoil and thought maybe their grease would be fine. Problem is I'm not sure which one would be best to use (links below for specs) GHD or GLC?

Also, I'm not deadset on using amsoil grease and I know this is kind of a broad question but if there is something else out there that's quality stuff and I can buy it off the store shelf at autozone, wal mart, etc I'm open to suggestions.

https://www.amsoil.com/storefront/ghd.aspx
https://www.amsoil.com/storefront/glc.aspx

I have no experience using those greases in a wheel bearing application. I've used the racing grease, which costs a lot more, for wheel bearings and have had good luck. Whichever one you decide on, be sure to pull back the plunger on your grease gun to take the pressure off the grease when the gun is not in use. Otherwise, the grease/base oil can separate and the oil may run out of your gun while it's in storage.

According to Amsoil, the GLC is their preferred grease for wheel bearings, but the GHD will work, too. I think that the GHD may be more intended for low speed, chassis lube points, but will work ok for wheel bearings also. Shoot a PM to Pablo or Gary Allen, the site sponsors for Amsoil.

Thanks guys. Looks like I'm gonna go with the GRG on this little job.

One more thing, could I also use it for universal joints or should I use a different grease for that?

Well I installed my free spin hubs on the truck a couple of days ago and the new wheel bearings were packed with Amsoil GRG. Here's a few pics of my rig:

11758750_1024.ts1183594508000.jpg

11758999_1024.ts1183595540000.jpg

11759136_1024.ts1183596197000.jpg

11759292_1024.ts1183596902000.jpg