emulsify or demulsify water in diesel fuel?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm new to this forum and have found it very informative. Thanks!

I have been driving diesels since 1985 and always have used a fuel supplement. Recently on another diesel related forum I learned that there are two different methods for treating water in diesel fuel. Some diesel fuel additives demulsify water while the others emulsify or disperse water.

Anyone have insight into the trade-offs between these two approaches to handling water in diesel fuel? The demulsifier vendors imply that emulsified water can come out of suspension at the wrong time and cause problems. But the demulsified fuel could also cause water to collect in the bottom of the fuel tank and provide the opportunity for algae to form (?). On the other hand, emulsified fuel "locks up" the water to prevent water in the tank. But how well is the water locked up? Can it come out of suspension in the injection pump under certain conditions (cold weather/high pressure) and cause erosion?
I don't mean to imply one product is better than another - just curious about the technical differences in the two approaches to dealing with the problem of water in diesel fuel. Any insight would be greatly appreciated...
smile.gif

Bill,

This argument has been going on for longer than I can remember in various forms. I use a different take on the situation, I don't want the water in the tank to cause algae and I don't want it going through my injectors either. So I use emulsifiers and move the water from the tank to my primary fuel/water separator, and from that to the engine fuel/water separator and hope that the encapsulation of water is minimal when it goes to the injectors after 2 fuel water separators.