Does small engine needs synthetics?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello there, I'm a complete noob in motorcycle and oil so I need guidance from oil expert and enthusiast like you guys.

My motorcycle is an entry-level air-cooled 150cc from Honda. It's still in break-in process, currently sitting at 1600 km. I already changed the oil three times at 300, 800, and 1500 km. Still using mineral oil as its the recommended oil for breaking in.

I'm planning to switch to M1 semi-synth at 2500 km, and start using Repsol/Castrol full synth at 8500 km. But when I look at both full synth oil's technical datasheet, it was meant for medium and high performance engine. While my bike's top speed is only 70mph at 9000 rpm, and it won't go any higher no matter what
33.gif

So my question is, as written on title, does small engine needs synthetics? Is it worth it, or is it just waste of money?

Additional question, I live in tropical country where the temp can go to 100°F all year long. From what I've read the most suitable oil weight is 10w-40, but the manufacturer recommends 10w-30. My other consideration, the options for 10w-30 semi/full synth oil is thin! Rotella T6 is non-existent in here, so yeah, that's why I chose Repsol/Castrol (both have 10w-40 viscosity) for my future oil. Should I stick with the manual or should I go with thicker oil?

Your reply and suggestion will be much appreciated!
Thanks!

Last edited:
Thickest oil you can find easily. Isn't there a chart for which oil to use in temp range. 32-120F? I favor 20w50. Conventional or synthetic has little meaning these days. Air cooled motor cycle oil.
grin2.gif

20W-50 would more than likely work the best in a hot climate. If you can get Rotella or the equivalent in 15W-40 that should be ok too and cheaper.

Apa Kabar Pak … 10w30 is widely used in air cooled engines in hot climates - I'd be afraid a really thick oil will just rob HP or create more heat.