Coated rotors, do they work?

This is my first time using coated rotors. I got the NAPA ultra premium coated. My oem ones are 3 years old and got very crusty. Up here in the rust
belt I usually change brakes when there's still most of the meat left on them because of corrosion issues on pad backing and rotors.
Does that coating last long?

They 100% do work. I like and use the Raybestos Elements 3 rotors and all are still looking good at 3-4 years. The trick to keeping any coated rotor in good shape is go easy on the wheel cleaner, some products eg purple power can and do damage the coating.
Rotors that the middle are painted only generally only prevent corrosion between the hub and wheel only and are not the same as a full coated rotor.
The part the pads work on will still rust once driven.

Most definitely, just be sure to get the Elements 3 hybrid pads not the lower priced ones if they happen to offer them. I have installed a lot of these pads and rotors for myself and others on daily drivers and are very satisfied with them.

Gonna agree with this! Installed a set of E3 Hybrids all around on the beater car and they perform great with very minimal dusting. Just ordered a set for the fronts on the Camry so we'll see how they do on it. I didn't get the E3 rotors I went with the street performance (Raybestos as well, not slotted or grooved) due to the mountains around here, but they have performed well on the beater.

This is my first time using coated rotors. I got the NAPA ultra premium coated. My oem ones are 3 years old and got very crusty. Up here in the rust
belt I usually change brakes when there's still most of the meat left on them because of corrosion issues on pad backing and rotors.
Does that coating last long?

if it's done well, 8 years or more here in our rust belt. overheating kills the coating though.

Yes they work :)