Best oil for a 3rd gen 4Rnr w/261k on it?

Hi Folks!

Total noob here; apologies in advance for the lack of brevity, but the text in the “university” section encourages posters to provide as much info as possible b/c there’s some die hard oil geeks on here. Awesome! You are to whom I’m writing. That being said, I want to know what kind of oil to put in my old 4Runner.

Since I acquired my truck @ 165k, I have been running 20W-50 (unless I forgot to specify that @ the time of an oil change). My first truck had a GM 350 w/a Quadrajet, headers & cherry packs, and a guy at the gas station told me to always run 20W-50 “racing oil” in everything and I’ll never go wrong. For whatever reasons, that ‘advice’ has stuck with me for 35 years; however, recently I have begun to question the validity of it; after all, how could some gomer working at a Sunoco station in Scranton, PA know more than the Toyota engineers who designed the 3.4 litre 5VZ-FE DOHC V6 in my ‘98 4Runner – one of the most reliable “bulletproof” engines ever made by Toyota (or anyone else for that matter)? Yes, it is certainly possible that he could; however the likelihood is also low.