ATF fluid route after pan drop...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Guys, I have a quick question. I'm a electrical engineer by profession but it is driving me crazy since I'm trying to figure out how or where the new/old fluid goes after you add new after pan drop. Have I confused you yet lol??? Ok let me break it down into Layman's terms...

-after you drain the old fluid from the pan and put in the new atf fluid thru dipstick, it goes directly to the tranny pan right...so after you start your car and let it run for 5 min, does the new atf fluid go to the TC and old atf that was in TC go to the tranny pan???

The reason why I ask is because of the multiple drain/refill when changing atf. How do you know that you are not replacing new aft that's mixed with the old atf or each time you are doing the multiple drain, you're draining the old fluid?

It mixes with the old ATF. When you do multiple drain and refills you are in fact draining out some new with the old, that's why many of us have gone to cooler line drain and refill which gets about 99% new fluid in there.

If you start early in the life of the tranny, regular pan drain and refills make sense.

OTOH, there are those that say doing a complete flush on an older, neglected tranny can do more harm than good.

Thanks for the reply. That's what I thought. It's time for me to do a tranny fluid change. Last change was at 175k with M1 aft using the BG machine. I plan on using the machine again since it took like 15-20min max using this quick process. I think the main thing with the mechanical exchange is to make sure they purge their system before use.

My 2006 Infinity factory service manual specifies the line off fluid exchange procedure.
The main thing with machines is that they don't back flush the system,this can lead to possible transmission issues.Machines that use the transmissions pump to exchange the fluid in the normal direction of flow are fine.
I have no idea what type the BG machine is.