Amsoil EAO13 question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to this board. I recently became an Amsoil preferred customer. I have been using Mobil 1 since 1998, but feel that Amsoil sells a better quality oil after doing a lot of research on the subject. My wife and I currently own two vehicles, both were bought new, a 2006 Honda Pilot and a 2007 Honda Civic. The Civic is just about two months old and has only been driven ~600 miles so far. After the break-in is complete, I plan to use Amsoil 0W-20 and an EAO13 oil filter. Due to short trips and low miles, I will most likely opt for 6 month oil changes on the Civic. Depending on the UOA's, I may extend up to 12 months over the course of several oil changes. Anyway, that is some background on my plans.

Now for my questions:

First, I have heard that the EAO13 filter tends to perform better over time. Some folks tell me that I should replace the EAO13 every other oil change. This seems contrary to everything I have ever been told about oil filtration. It seems that a new filter should always work better than one that is partially fouled.

Second, this is somewhat off topic. How is the packaging when items are ordered directly from Amsoil? Is everything well protected, or are the items just put into a cardboard box and sent out? Does the EAO13 filter come shrink wrapped?

Thanks for your help!

I'd suggest getting the Amsoil 0W20 15,000 severe/1 year oil and the EaO13. Then at 6 months do a UOA. Then change both out at a year.

Amsoil ships everything by UPS. I am also from Houston and usually get my order in 2 days from the Dallas warehouse.