2 Person brake fluid flush method

Has anyone done the method where someone presses the brake pedal and the other person opens the bleeder valve, then the person closes the valve and the person releases the brake pedal?

I’m not too cheap to buy a power bleeder, but it’s more stuff to break and clean.

I’ve never done brake fluid before

Yes , just about everyone who has done a brake job has used this method. You do need to place a spacer under the brake peddle so that you do not push the master cylinder too far. If not you run the risk of damaging the seals in the master cylinder when they are pushed too far out of their normal range into the bore of the master cylinder.

Agh! I despise the two person brake bleed method. It has never worked well for me. The cost of the Motive brake bleeder equipment was a small price to pay for avoiding the insanity of the two person method.

You may consider Speed Bleeder valves. There are many fans here on BITOG of these. I've never really read any negative comments on them. They turn a brake bleed into a one person job without the purchase of any special tools. When you let off the brake pedal, the valve keeps air from being sucked in.

I have used speedbleeder valve, except after a while, I did not remember which car I put it on. LOL.
Plus, if I change the caliper, then I forgot to move it.

I've done the one person method with no special equipment as shown by Chris Fix at minute 6:30 of the video below. I coat the brake bleeder threads with silicone grease to eliminate air intrusion through the threads. I also put a wood block underneath the brake pedal to avoid pushing it to the floor, as recommended by oldcodger above.