2015 Ford 6.2 4x4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh. And as far as oil goes castrol,pennzoil,m1 etc are all producing a certified lubricant so no matter how you choose to go just insure you've got a certified product and don't give it a second thought.

You hit the nail on the head Clevy. As long as it meets the M2C945a (their 5w20 spec) spec you're golden. If full synthetic is what you desire, Advance Auto Parts has a nice Valvoline Synpower special going on this month.. 1 jug and a Fram Ultra filter (XG2 IIRC) for $27.xx with their coupon. She holds 7 quarts btw.

I have yet to hear of this engine preferring one oil over the other, so the tech that recommended Castrol most likely uses it only because that's what is grandpa used back in the 60s. Plus with him being a dealer tech, I would think his experience is pretty limited to the MC blend. Who knows.. Im sure hes a great guy.. just take what he says with a grain of salt.

It's a screamer I know that for sure lol, when I go to do my rearend fluid what would you guys recommend brand wise? I've always ran Lucas in the rear end of these fords and I've never had issues.

Originally Posted By: Fordbossguy
It's a screamer I know that for sure

I know what you mean, my 6.8 V10 redlines at 5k...that's enough!

I run 5w-20 synthetic and when I run out I'll switch to my stash of 0w-20, same as the Honda.

BITOG'rs don't let friend use Lucas
shocked.gif

I checked out the OM regarding the diff fluid. It recommended 80w90 for the front "axle" and 75w140 synthetic for the rear and gave the Motorcraft part numbers and fluid specs.

Obviously the fronts are different between the two trucks, but the rear should be the same. I am having a heck of a time finding fluid that meets their specs and it said nothing about a limited slip additive.

I also found it interesting that the transmission doesnt have a dip stick and should only be checked/ refilled by a "certified technician".