Which Snow Blower Does Everyone Like ??

Status
Not open for further replies.
BIL has a comact ariens 2-stage with a Robin Subaru on it. So far, seems like a fine engine. I still like my Snow King though
smile.gif

Sure are getting a lot of snow so far this year, aren't we?

My 10HP TORO just eats it up nicely.

- neighbor in the next town straight east...

Certainly glad to have my Toro this year, that's for sure. Missed last nights though - I'm in Denver where its 43 and sunny without a trace of snow on the ground...

Originally Posted By: JTK
I don't know if we've posted this before, but it looks like other name-brand engine manufacturers are getting into the snowblower market now with Tecumseh being gone.
Tecumseh is gone? Their website still works...

I've been using an MTD 5HP (Tecumseh) 22" 2-stage for probably 15 years or so. The only problem it ever had is that the governor failed because it was plastic. I also cleaned the carb once, but that may have been just because I like to tinker with stuff. It tends to plug the chute if the snow is really slushy, and it's a little underpowered if you let the snowplows pile lots of snow in the mouth of your driveway, but it does OK if you go slowly.

I own a late model Simplicity Large Frame machine right now and I'm very pleased with it. If I were to trade up, this is my choice:

http://www.yamaha-motor.ca/products/products.php?section=td&model=3537#contentTop

YAMAHA

Price Tag

$3,999 msrp*

YS928J
The flagship of Yamaha snowblowers!

CAPACITY
Clearing Width 71.5cm (28 in)
Housing Height 51.0cm (20 in)
Blowing Capacity 50 tons/hr
Maximum Blowing Distance 16m (52 ft)
DRIVE SYSTEM
Axle Rubber track
Transmission Hydrostatic
Speeds Infinitely variable
Ground Speed (km/h) Forward: 0 ~ 3.2
Reverse: 0 ~ 2.4
AUGER SYSTEM
Type Dual stage with "Shock Protector"
Diameter 350mm (13.8in)
Drive Electromagnetic
Height Adjustment Gas assist
CHUTE CONTROL
Rotation Electric
Deflection Manual, two-step (remote lever)