Where are the Porsche 356 racers at?

Status
Not open for further replies.
jimrat:
I've been building 356/912 motors for over 30 years now & read most of the posts on this forum. While I like reading about the latest 0-20wt oils, etc., I'd never put them in these old 4-bangers - JMO.

Johnny:
I don't want to open a can of worms here, but I've always used straight 30 (and 40 in hot climates/track conditions.) As for brands, any of the big names, however I realize that they're constantly changing. Castrol/Valv MLife/Havoline. I'm not going to say that the motors "like" these oils or somehow run noticeably better - but they do stay together. I've tried a few synthetics in the past, but the fuel contamination of the oil prevents even approaching a long drain interval on these motors.

very very little air cooled engine discussion here unless you count motorcycles. I'd think that at least porsche fanatics would find their way here to fuel their obsession.

I had the 151st Porsche coupe built. I also have owned a 1956 super coupe and a 1963 coupe. My dad & I have rebuilt many 356 engines including roller crank engines. great cars in their time.

What size sump did these old motors have? And was there any filtration of the oil besides a pick-up screen? Do you improve the oiling/lube system in any way when you go through one of these motors? I'm just curious. I grew up with several old 60's VW beetles in the family.

I've never done any modifications to the oiling system, but I'll add that I don't build full-race engines. The original cannister filter does a great job, as does the stock oil pump. By the time the engines got to the 356SC/912 versions, they were pretty well developed by the factory.