Wheel bearing vs wheel hub

Pew

Hi folks,

I think it's time to replace my wheel bearings at 199K miles (2015 ford focus SE 1.0L.) I've been getting a pretty loud humming noise from the front since the 6th of this month that I thought was my worn tires (about 4/32) and a broken belt in the tire so I switched to my winter tires and the humming noise is still there if not louder. I'm about to embark on a ~4000 mile roadtrip next Friday too so I did the "shake test" with the two front wheels and spun them in the air and I didn't see or hear anything bad. No noticeable increase in vibration either.

Rockauto has the front bearings but no hub and they have the entire rear hub for sale including the bearings. OEM ford parts website is the same; only front wheel bearing for sale but not the entire hub. I've never done wheel bearings before but is it common practice for only the front bearings to be on sale and not the entire hub? I'm assuming I'll need a shop to press out the old bearings and put the new ones in as well.

Last edited:
Your Ford Focus probably has the same wheel bearing design as my old Corolla. The fronts typically have the bearing pressed into the knuckle. I detached tie rod and shock and dislodged completely to give more access. I used those bearing cup style press kit with an impact to remove and install the bearing. The toughest job was the clip used to retain the bearing as it was frozen with corrosion but after working with the pneumatic tool to break the ring free from the groove, everything went well. The biggest chance to mess up was installing the bearing making sure it’s square to the bore before impacting it in. The bearing with the magnet side is obvious so make sure you don’t press that in backwards. Removing the race from the hub was easy with a dremel grind wheel but be careful. A cold chisel right before cutting through will dislodge race from the hub. Then the hub can be cleaned and reused.