What Weight Track Oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
We have been running Amsoil MCT 20W-50 and Maxima Ultra 5W-50 in our 2 track bikes both 09+12 GSX-R1000's.

We were running the 20W-50 weight based on feedback from Amsoil, UOA's and how well it held up after several weekends at the track.

Sunrah has me convinced to change the oil at a shorter interval as the motors spend most of their time at very high rpms beating up the oil.

With the short change intervals I will be using should I move to a 10W-40 or the 530RR Maxima stuff since I no longer need the 50W.

Thanks

http://www.maximausa.com/shopping/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=3

I am far from an expert, but I personally like to stay on the thicker side of oil in bikes. I would personally stay with the 50 in those oils. But that is just me and did drag racing rather than road racing.

Am I the only one who can't stand when someone just dumps some answer without any effort into explaining why they suggest it?

Its hard to say really. With a quality synthetic you may be able to get away with a 40W but if a 50W full synthetic is shearing it might be more worth your while sticking to it. Stick to a 50W. You know it works.

The only benefit I could see is if you shift to a 40W and experience less shear...ending up with the same visco as your 50W after it has sheared. You might be able to free up a little power that way by running thinner oil.

But realistically a 40W is likely to shear down just as your 50W has; I would stick to a 50W. You could try running a 40W and seeing through a UOA what you end up with but really, in an air cooled motor, racing, the risks with running thinner are probably significant compared to the slightly lower drag coefficient from a thinner oil.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: RiceCake
Am I the only one who can't stand when someone just dumps some answer without any effort into explaining why they suggest it?

No

Originally Posted By: Clevy