Toro wheelhorse 10-32 questions...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have 'inherited' a Toro Wheelhorse (Model 56190, 10-32) rear engine riding lawn mower that I found in my father's old wood shop. He passed away about 4 years ago, and my mother says it was probably at least 5 (maybe more) years before that since he used it. It was made in 1992 and has a 10.5 hp Briggs vertical engine. I also found the original operator's manual that came with it.

The battery was dead so I replaced that, changed the oil, and cranked it up. It didn't start up immediately but it didn't take that long either. It ran OK, not great, but not that bad either. I have been using it to mow grass for several months now and have been doing maintenance as I go along. Probably the most worrisome thing for me was that it did not have an air filter in it. I have no idea how long that has been, or if my father used it without one for any length of time. I purchased a new one and put it in but honestly I don't know if any damage has been done or what to do about it now except to cross my fingers and hope. It would not surprise me if my father ran it without a filter for years. he wasn't very smart about stuff like that. The oil was also horribly black and dirty and thin when I changed it, along with being below the low mark on the dipstick.