Toilet shopping - regular vs pressure-assist

While shopping for a new master bath toilet, I came across these newer pressure-assisted toilets. The fact that they use little water and mainly rely on pressure is interesting. But some questions:

- Is pressure-assist really all that it's hyped up to be?
- Reliability? Seems like there's more stuff that can go wrong versus a regular toilet that needs an occasional cheap flapper, fill valve, etc.
- Recommended brands? I see American Standard has one for under $300.

I'm also looking at a conventional American Standard Cadet 3. Seems like a no nonsense workhorse for a fair price. I've heard that big box stores like Lowes & HD receive toilets with irregularities from the manufacturer. Is this true?

This is my first time toilet shopping so I appreciate the help!

Twenty years ago when low water use toilets didn't work there was a lot of talk about these things. Now efficient toilets that work can be had for a hundred bucks. Don't think I'd bother. You occasionally see them in C-stores. Haven't looked seriously at one in more than a decade but at that time they were pretty noisy for a family.

The pressure assist ones are noisy

I have a 1.6 gallons per flush plain old Kohler, very happy

1.2’s do exist now

Years ago whe I was replacing my toilets I did a study and found that the one with the least problems and using a small amount of water was the dual flush Caroma, an australian product and australians know all about water shortages, also they have the biggest throat so that if you are a high roughage family no change of plugging it.:)

Stay away from pressure assist toilets. Virtually everyone whom I know that has one has experienced problems with them. I recommend a Kohler Wellworth toilet that uses 1.25 gallon per flush. Affordble, reliable and very water friendly.

The pressure vessel can leak. Or do this:

Pressure-Assisted-Toilets-Exploding-1.jpg