Time for a video card upgrade.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay so I've been itching to upgrade my video card for a few months now. Some games are a little choppy at high level of graphics. FSX still blows even with a CPU, mobo and ram upgrade a few years ago. My rig has a AMD Phenom II X6 1090T CPU, BIOSTAR TA870U3+ mobo (hush), 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1333 RAM, and the video card is a ASUS CuCore Series EAH5770. I was lookin at this. Anyone up to date on video cards these days??? Any opinions of any card is appreciated.
smile.gif

Not too up to date on the newest cards but whatever video card you get, make sure the power supply can support the extra power needed. From your rig setup, you sound like you know what you are doing.
wink.gif

Good luck!

how much you want for the old one? i had to "borrow" the card out of my old PC when the one in my sister's computer died.
The "old" PC had fairly similar specs to yours,though i was running an absolutely ancient Diamond Radeon 2400HD, it would still be my primary PC if my brother hadn't given me this one

You might want to check out the Asus Geforce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB for that rig.

My 8800GTS 640Mb gave up the ghost at the end of the Summer after MANY years of awesome service.

I was always glad that I went for the larger RAM on the 8800GTS when I got it, everyone was proclaiming the 320MB at the time was just as good.

Well, when everyone wasn't able to play with higher texture detail in newer games on their 8800GTS 320MB I was still able to use my card for many generations of games with great detail.

Anyway, the GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB is dirt cheap, make sure it is the beefy one with 2 fans on it because Nvidia is a bit confusing right now. A lot of "value" cards based off the same chip that aren't usable for gaming, so make sure you get the right one.

Should be around 150$ right now.

Originally Posted By: SEMI_287
Okay so I've been itching to upgrade my video card for a few months now