Tacoma oil question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 4.0 Tacoma that I bought brand new as a 3rd vehicle but now it's my daily commuter. I average 20k miles a year and I do about 750 miles a year towing less then 2500 pounds. I do city driving but 80% of the time it is during off peak hours so very little stop and go. I am a highly conservative driver...rarely go above 2000 rpms and
I use cruise control at 65. I would like to do 10k OCI with Mobil 1 EP 5w30 and I only use OEM oil filters which I will still change at 5000 miles(v6 OCI as per Toyota). Should I go less because I tow and drive in the city? And should I send it out for a test at 7500 to make sure? It currently has 22k on it thanks...

Dont bother changing the filter at 5K miles. Just change it when you change the oil. I run Fram Ultra filters for 15k or 20K miles and they are perfect afterwards.

I PERSONALLY stick to 7500 mile changes on 6 cylinders, but 10K would likely be fine.

I have a tacoma too, but can't get my mind around 10k oci, just me, I know. I drive 10-20 miles a trip, several days a week, but only 6-7k a year, I do yearly oil changes with PPPP. If I did more miles a year, I'd do twice a year oil changes. That's fairly cheap, and plenty safe for my piece of mind.

I've been doing 7500-8000 mile changes on my 3.4L v6 2002 Tacoma. I have had it since new and I have almost 200,000 miles on it. I'm sure a 10K OCI would be fine. I'm doing 10K OCIs on my 2012 Highlander.

Originally Posted By: deven
Towing or not M1 5w30 EP will do 10k changes with ease.
Originally Posted By: bubbatime
Dont bother changing the filter at 5K miles. Just change it when you change the oil. I run Fram Ultra filters for 15k or 20K miles and they are perfect afterwards.

I PERSONALLY stick to 7500 mile changes on 6 cylinders, but 10K would likely be fine.

+1.....agree with the two post above.....except IMO...you should be able to do 10K OCI's with ease....with Mobil 1 5w30 EP.