Should I do a UOA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is the first time I'd ever do one. My bike has 4500 miles on it now, more or less... probably more. In about a hundred miles my oil will have a thousand miles on it, it's my first time using this particular oil. It is Motul Synth/Blend 15w-50.

What do you guys think?

I'd say 1000 miles will not tell you much, how about 2500 miles or until shifting quality degenerates.
smile.gif

Will do, 2500 miles it is. I just didn't want to leave it in for too long because I don't know how well this oil is working in my bike. It seems clunky in shifting now as opposed to the day I put it in.

I just changed out my motul 10W 40 full syn. had @ 6500kms@4100mi. I found it to be the same the day it was put in to the day i changed it(still had great suspension quality & viscosity)I'm now using 15W 50 which my manual actualy recomends(triumph said it was a typo in it's manuals) The shifting is better,ALL I can recommend is to use the grade that your manufacure recomends at least till it's broken in (triumphs@10000mi)
biggthumbcoffe.gif

Well, my bike is definitely broken in at 4,600 miles now. The break in period was only until 1,500 miles for it... it's not like a BMW or anything where you have to wait a century before they consider it broken in.

Anyhow, when you switched to the 15w-50, was it the full synthetic or a synthetic blend? I plan on changing this one at 2000 miles and send it in for an analysis to see how it's doing. If I like it then I'll stick with but if not I may just use Mobil 1 15w-50.

Hello all: