Rock Auto Frustration Vent

Status
Not open for further replies.
Rant On.

I ordered a power steering return (suction) hose for my 2005 Toyota Avalon along with a couple of cabin air filters from Rock Auto. Notification showed it was shipped USPS on April 3, 2019. I kept checking the tracking on Rock Auto (RA) and USPS's website and it was shipped from RA's California warehouse. Normally a parcel shipment from California to Hawaii takes 3-5 days. Even with USPS's cheapest method, it takes 5 working days. On April 20, I launched a order cancellation and RA sail I needed to wait until April 23 to give USPS time to update the tracking. I went on today (April 23) to cancel this order and refund my money so I can buy it from the dealer. Their non customer friendly system says the cancellation request is in but I have to wait until April 30 so RA can put a trace with USPS. They said to return on April 30 and cancel the order. I've been ordering parts from them since 2006 but this was the last.

Rant off, thanks for listening.

Last edited:
18.gif

Originally Posted by FordBroncoVWJeta
Sounds more like a USPS issue than a Rock Auto issue.

Guess I'm spoiled with Amazon.com. If this were the case with Amazon, I would cancel and they would refund all my money then tell me if the parcel arrived, refuse it or return it at no cost to me.

Sucks living out in the middle of nowhere. For stuff I need done now gotta pay the extra dough.

If you don't open the package and just return to the sender once it arrives, you don't have to pay a thing. (I think?) You probably could have gotten the credit card company involved as well.

Somewhat silly it takes this long, but I don't think this is RA's fault. Blame USPS. Being from Hawaii, aren't you used to this sort of thing? Long transit times, free shipping minus Alaska and Hawaii etc.

Originally Posted by Egg_Head
Doesn't help that customers cannot speak with someone on the phone at RA for circumstances like this.