Reduced Scheduled Maintenance for Hybrid Vehicles?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I need some help from other hybrid owners, or those with more maintenance knowledge than me.

I bought a used, 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid with 69,000 miles this summer. As a former government car, Carfax showed it had been in for servicing every 5,000 miles (I found out later this was Kendall 5W20 Blend). So I bought it, feeling pretty good about it.

So far, so good. No problems. Fuel mileage in my 80% highway/20% city, 45 mile daily commute has been between 47 - 50 mpg. Currently using Motorcraft 5W20 Full Synthetic. I may do a UOA on it at 7,500 miles. Havoline 0W20 will be the next oil I use.

I am still learning about the differences between the gasoline Fusion and the hybrid version. For example, from my manual A) oil change intervals are 10,000 miles, B) transmission fluid intervals are 120,000 miles. Here, the manual says, your ecvt transmission does not comsume fluid. It is designed to be "filled for life." (I don't know about that one, I'm trying to figure out HOW to put in 5 qts of fresh Mercon LV transmission fluid, ASAP). C) No alternator, no starter motor, no torque convertor, no clutch, no transmission bands to wear out or service.

So perhaps any of you Toyota Prius owners, or other hybrid owners, with more than 100,000 miles, can tell me what items will wear out or break?

I'm not concerned about the hybrid battery, because I figure I can get one from the junkyard - from other crashed Fusion Hybrids. Several NY City Ford Escape taxis on ebay reached 325,000 miles with their orginal batteries. I hope to reach 400,000 miles. With this mild Tennessee climate, I just may make it.

Doubt you will be able to get a battery from a junkyard, that is going to be by far the easiest and most profitable part to pull. Someone else is always going to get to it first. That said it will be interesting to see how long yours lasts.