Pure One PL10241 Cut Open – Pics with torn media

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here is a Pure One that has four tears in the media, both sides of the metal crimp strip and at each end. This filter was used for a 5,400 mi OCI on a 2004 Toyota Tundra, 4.7L V-8 with 95,000 miles. The oil was PYB 5W-30, I did not see any issues with the oil pressure (or any other problems) while this was installed. The installation date was November 2013, and if I understand the manufacturing code correctly, the filter was manufactured on January 11, 2013.

I have been using P1’s on three vehicles for several years with no issues, only using Honda (Honeywell) filters on the 2012 Civic since it is still under warranty (not required but my preference). Up to this point I have not been really concerned about the torn media problem, thinking that statistically the odds of having a problem to be minimal. However, after seeing this first hand I will not be using any Purolator filters until this problem is resolved. This one was replaced with a Wix 51516 (oversized), and I will be replacing all my P1’s with either a Fram Ultra or a Wix.

Over the past 8 years I have cut open 15 or 20 filters, both OEM and aftermarket, including Generac and Kawasaki branded filters used on OPE small engines. Until now, I have never seen any defects that caused concern. In the next few weeks I will be removing and cutting open the P1’s on my Camry and Pilot and will post my findings.

Ignore the dent in the side of the can, this was caused by the filter wrench when I removed it.

PL10241_01_zps8d787871.jpg

PL10241_02_zps0bcfe403.jpg

PL10241_03_zps5a45226d.jpg

PL10241_04_zps75497b18.jpg

PL10241_05_zpsd93c782d.jpg

PL10241_06_zps094006de.jpg

PL10241_07_zpsb09b5e29.jpg

PL10241_08_zps5444ce83.jpg

PL10241_09_zps6db1d43c.jpg

PL10241_10_zpsf4aff161.jpg

PL10241_11_zps70d0e7fa.jpg

PL10241_12_zps2c53cfd0.jpg

PL10241_13_zps472abd18.jpg